Copenhagen is UNESCO-UIA World Capital of Architecture in 2023

Copenhagen, a city known for its people-centric architecture with a focus on function, art and design, is the World Capital of Architecture for 2023.

The General Assembly of the International Union of Architects (UIA) —  the only international organization of its kind representing architects on a global scale, according to its website — recommended Denmark’s capital in keeping with the partnership agreement established in 2018, through which UNESCO designates the host cities of UIA’s World Congress as “World Capitals of Architecture.”  

“Copenhagen has conducted formal urban and architectural experiments that are exceptional in more ways than one,” especially with regard to nature, Director-General of UNESCO, Audrey Azoulay, said during a ceremony earlier this month. 

“This architectural awareness is essential at a time when we need new solutions, new materials and new ways of thinking about shared spaces,” Azoulay said.

UNESCO and the UIA launched the initiative to highlight the key role of architecture, city planning, and culture in shaping urban identity and sustainable urban development.  

“Architecture is the gateway that either opens the world up to you or closes in around you,”…

Source link

CHECK OUT: Top Travel Destinations

EXPLORE OUR: Travel Guides

About the author: Travel News

Related Posts